A Boy Called Hope

7,99

Debe registrarse para usar la función de lista de espera. Por favor haz login o crea una cuenta

Agotado

Debe registrarse para usar la función de lista de espera. Por favor haz login o crea una cuenta

ES: Soy Dan Hope y en el fondo de mi cabeza guardo una lista de cosas que quiero que se hagan realidad. Por ejemplo, quiero que mi hermana, Ninja Grace, vaya a la universidad en el Polo Norte y sólo vuelva una vez al año. Quiero ayudar a Sherlock Holmes a resolver su misterio más atrevido. Y si puede ser un misterio de zombis, aún más emocionante. Quiero que mi perro deje de comerse las zapatillas y de vomitarlas en la alfombra. Y por último, el mayor sueño de todos, quiero que mi padre me quiera. 

EN: I’m Dan Hope and deep inside my head I keep a list of things I want to come true. For example, I want my sister, Ninja Grace, to go to university at the North Pole and only come back once a year. I want to help Sherlock Holmes solve his most daring mystery yet. And if it could be a zombie mystery, all the more exciting. I want my dog to stop eating the planets and throwing them up on the carpet. And finally, the biggest dream of all, I want my dad to love me.

Compartir

Share on facebook
Share on whatsapp
Share on twitter
Share on pinterest
Share on email
  • Envío gratis por compras superiores a 59,90€ (Canarias y Baleares no incluido)
  • El 2% de tu pedido va destinado a regalar libros a hospitales de día infantiles
  • Productos en stock: pídelos antes de las 12h y los enviamos el mismo día.

  • 12-17
  • Paperback | 304 páginas
  • 130 x 197 x 20mm | 252g
  • 01 Mar 2017
  • London, United Kingdom
  • English

 

Críticas de prensa:

“Dan’s humour and indefatigable optimism shine through despite all that life throws at him… I laughed and cried, often at the same time.”
Lara Mieduniecki, Manager, Blackwells Edinburgh

“A beautifully written and heartfelt novel that made me laugh and cry in equal measure. I initially read a proof of this and have been championing it in store ever since it’s publication. It’s perfect for fans of Wonder and even for older readers who like Erin Lange and John Green. I can’t wait to read Lara’s next book.”
Gem Routledge, Waterstones

“For grittier, real-world settings, what about… Lara Williamson’s A Boy Called Hope?”
The Telegraph

“Warm, heartbreaking and hilarious in turn… a fabulous book about love, families and making sense of life.”
The Sunday Express

“A joyous, heart-breaking and life-affirming story of one boy and his messy, muddled and madcap family.”
lovereading4kids.co.uk

“A brave bold and funny debut which comes with recommendations from fellow author Cathy Cassidy – perfect for fans of both her and Jacqueline Wilson.”
Lytham St Anne’s Express

“A Boy Called Hope is a truly fantastic book and its message of hope and courage when life doesn’t pan out as planned is one of the strongest I’ve read in a long while.”
Moontrug

“There are a lot of misunderstandings and surprises in this moving story, full of highs and lows but never losing hope. You feel everything Dan goes through and with him you realise what really makes a family.”
Primary Times

“English teachers will love this book as it demonstrates all the techniques that they have been teaching for years and that generally fall on deaf ears. Any child of any sex from the age of about 9 to 14 will enjoy and relate to the storyline. A thoroughly good read and could Dan be an Adrian Mole successor?”
Teach English

“A story that will bring you to laughter, move you to tears and one that you won’t be able to put down long after you have finished reading it. This is a story told with touching reality… it is rich, stunningly beautiful and a must-read for all young teens.”
The School Librarian

“This is a beautifully rendered account of little Dan Hope and his madcap plans to fix his family after his dad leaves them.”
Little London

“Thought provoking and laugh-out-loud funny. A bold and moving book about family life in all its shapes and sizes.”
Books Are My Bag

“A touching and humorous read which will appeal to both girls and boys who enjoy emotionally challenging stories about family and friendship.”
BookBuzz

“This is an excellent read, in which complex family relationships are handled sensitively and with realism, so giving the reader plenty to think about.”
Carousel

«Lara Williamsons compelling debut novel has its finger firmly on the pulse of family life with the story of an ordinary boy with a single-minded determination to make his absent dad love him… A highly accomplished and beautifully written debut.”
Lancashire Evening Post

“I can’t think of a better way to celebrate World Book Day than by posting this review of a book by a debut writer that is already the leading contender for my Middle Grade book of the year…Lare Williamson’s writing is very clever, with word play, twists, turns and great plotting. I especially loved the humour that permeates through what is essentially a rather heartbreaking premise.”
Book Zone 4 Boys

“This is a great story that is full of gentle humour, a moving tale about complex family relationships and about the enduring bonds we have with the people in our lives.”
Birmingham Mail

“I adored this book from beginning to end and found myself completely wrapped up in Dan’s life… A breathtaking new voice for the Middle Grade contemporary market!”
Serendipity Reviews

“Upon finishing this book I was speechless. I wasn’t expecting such a poignant, beautifully written, heartbreaking and heart-warming story from a debut novel.”
The Croydon Advertiser

“In this bittersweet, laugh-out-loud story, a little hope goes a long way.”
The List (Glasgow and Edinburgh)

“Wonderfully warm, witty and heartfelt.”
Jake Hope, Freelance Children’s Book Consultant

“A thought-provoking, moving and very funny debut.”
The Bookseller

“A Boy Called Hope should be your companion through these dark, gloomy nights, when the rain is falling and you need a little joy and light in your life. It will make you cry, it will make you laugh, and it will make you smile.”
It Was Lovely Reading You blog

“A brave story, and told very skilfully. Funny, tender, poignant.”
Adam Clark, Daunt Books

“An honest, realistic and heart-warming story about belonging, identity and family.”
Kulsuma Begum, age 16, for lovereading4kids.co.uk

“I adored this book! It was so sweet and warmed me all the way down to my toes…I really enjoyed it.”
Rosa Boran, age 14, for lovereading4kids.co.uk

“Fabulous! A real page-turner which has so many twists and turns in the plot. I could not put it down and read it way past my bedtime. I couldn’t recommend this book more. A must read!”
Jodi Coffman, age 12, for lovereading4kids.co.uk

“This bitter-sweet book is fantastic, brilliant, funny and sad. It made me laugh and cry and I’ve never read a book which could do that before. You must read it.”
Sam Harper, age 10, for lovereading4kids.co.uk

“A Boy Called Hope will tug at your heartstrings and probably make your eyes all leaky, but it’s such a great book for huddling under a blanket with. After reading this book, you might want to go and tell everyone closest to you how much you appreciate them.”
The Mile Long Bookshelf

“Lara Williamson’s writing is witty and natural, and she seems to tune in beautifully to this eleven year old boy’s mind and heart, giving clarity to both his emotions and those of the family and friends around him. It’s impossible not to be drawn into the story and root for a happy ending.”
The Stardust Reader

“A Boy Called Hope will make you laugh out loud and shed a tear as you follow Dan’s adventures to make the items on his wish-list come true… You’ll love this if you loved Wonder by RJ Palacio.”
Kirsty Connor, The Overflowing Library

“I am so glad to have discovered such a wonderful writer.”
The Mile Long Bookshelf

“Dan is really three-dimensional character. He’s funny at points, clever at others, and always carries this inspiring amount of hope with him wherever he goes. Dan put a smile on my face with every page and I’m sure every reader will fall in love with his personality. His story is so heartwarming. At the same time, it’s also heartbreaking… honest, heart-wrenchingly sad and powerful, but it’s uplifting and fun too.”
Books and Writers JNR blog

“This is such a beautiful book inside and out. I truly empathised with Dan and his story really tugged at my heartstrings. I loved his family too, especially his sixteen-year-old sister ‘Ninja Grace’ (so called because her words are like venom.) Williamson has done a brilliant job at creating typical family dynamics and I really enjoyed reading about their day-to-day lives! As well as being beautifully written, A Boy Called Hope is funny and thought-provoking. Williamson has brought warmth and familiarity to characters in such a way that only extremely skilled authors can. I am so glad to have discovered such a wonderful writer and I cannot wait for Lara’s next book. A must-read for 2014! Warm characters, beautifully written and with a sprinkling of humour – what more does a good book need?”
The Mile Long Bookshelf blog

“A Boy Called Hope is a 2014 debut that you do not want to miss, whatever age you are. The writing is beautiful, honest, and enjoyable.”
Books and Writers JNR

Valoraciones

No hay valoraciones aún.

Sé el primero en valorar “A Boy Called Hope”

Tu dirección de correo electrónico no será publicada. Los campos obligatorios están marcados con *

Este sitio usa Akismet para reducir el spam. Aprende cómo se procesan los datos de tus comentarios.